Dead Pop Stars Society - XXXtra Juicy music video

25.11.2013 20:25

Spawned from Brooklyn-based DJ/producer posse Automatic Reaction, Dead Pop Stars Society pump out an adrenaline-fueled sonic slice of pop surrealism. DPSS, comprised of Moses Fader (aka MF Rex) and Salvador G, introduce their “hyper sample-based, non-linear, multi-layered, electro-psychedelic soundtrack to the apocalypse”(NoisePorn) on their single “XXXtra Juicy” from their forthcoming hyper-mashup album, Automatic Reaction Presents...Dead Pop Stars Society, out February 11, 2014.

Dead Pop Stars Society World Tour Promo Video from Jack Ginsberg on Vimeo.


“XXXtra Juicy” utilizes DPSS’s encyclopedic knowledge of music and is emblematic of their cut-and-paste aesthetic, creating a mosaic of immortal pop nuggets, bass heavy electro beats, and funky psychedelic obscurities. DPSS meticulously blend these elements together using a unique circular, multi-layered, harmonically blended, spur of consciousness mixing technique. “XXXtra Juicy” seamlessly interweaves 20 samples over five minutes, including Dillon Francis & Kill The Noise’s “Dill The Noise,” Notorious B.I.G.’s “Juicy,” 20th Century Steel Band's “Heaven & Hell,” Led Zeppelin’s “Heartbreaker,” Billy Squier’s “The Stroke,” Jurassic 5’s “Unified Rebelution,” Lyn Collins “Think (about it ),” Perez Prado’s “Mambo No.5 (The Gaff Edit),” and Bachman Turner Overdrive’s “You Aint Seen Nothing Yet ” to name a few. “XXXtra Juicy” exemplifies DPSS' hi-octane hyper-mashup prowess.

Stay on the look out for more from Dead Pop Stars Society, as they bring the party to New York and beyond.